Scenes for Survival | Password Portal


Scenes for Survival was a new season of digital short artworks, created in association with BBC Scotland, Screen Scotland, BBC Arts’ Culture in Quarantine project and Scotland’s leading theatre venues and companies, with support from Hopscotch Films.

Each artwork was exceptionally created by a quarantine creative team, connecting remotely, made up of a performer(s), writer and director and filmed by the performers, from their personal spaces of isolation. Over 200 leading artists and creatives collaborated to create and release fifty-five unique films.

This season of works also acted as a platform to raise money for the new Scenes For Survival Hardship Fund: a fund for artists and theatre workers who have been hardest hit financially by the pandemic.

Scenes for Survival was celebrated as part of the British Council's 2020 UK/Italy season 'Being Present'.


Scenes with lockdown loneliness

Scenes about surviving

Scenes with extraordinary conversations

Scenes from the frontline

Scenes of intrigue, mystery and suspense!

Scenes with lockdown love

Scenes from childhood

Scenes about mothers

Scenes about remembered love

Scenes about plays and passion

Scenes about the future

Scenes from theatre past and future

Artists involved to date include:

Performers: Moyo Akandé, Saskia Ashdown, Jasmin Ewing-Asname, Victoria Balnaves, Maureen Beattie, Oliver Bennett, Cora Bissett, Mark Bonnar, Tam Dean Burn, Ronan Burns, Neshla Caplan, Morven Christie, Andy Clark, Jo Clifford, Francesca Taylor Coleman, Amy Conachan, Nicole Cooper, Brian Cox, Alan Cumming, Kate Dickie, Martin Donaghy, Brian Duffy, Liz Ewing, Kirsty Findlay, Gilly Gilchrist, Julie Graham, Douglas Henshall, Dani Heron, Ava Hickey, Gordon Houston, Katherine Howden, Isabella Jarrett, Emma King, Sanjeev Kholi, Eilidh Loan, Laura Lovemore, Jack Lowden, Thierry Mabonga, Natalie MacDonald, Ross Mann, Patrick Martins, James McArdle, Martin McCormick, Kristi McDonald, Lorraine Mcintosh, Brooklyn Melvin, Afton Moran, Natalie Moore Williams, Ashleigh More, Gerry Mulgrew, Taqi Nazeer, Julie Wilson Nimmo, Jatinder Singh Randhawa, Richard Rankin, David Rankine, Annie Louise Ross, John Scougall, Elaine C Smith, Lawrence Smith, Molly Vevers, Daibhidh Walker, Jonathan Watson, Tracy Wiles, and Natalie Moore Williams.

Writers: Finn Anderson, Peter Arnott, Apphia Campbell, Rob Drummond, Philippe Ducros, Andy Edwards, Oliver Emanuel, Stewart Ennis, Jenni Fagan, Janice Galloway, Kevin Gilday, Catherine Grosvenor, Nelly Kelly, Aine King, Hannah Lavery, Ian Low, Iain Finlay Macleod, Iain Macrae, Douglas Maxwell, Isobel McArthur, Nicola McCartney, Liam McCormick, Val McDermid, Andy McGregor, Kathy McKean, Alan McKendrick, Johnny McKnight, Linda McLean, Denise Mina, Rona Munro, Noisemaker ( Scott Gilmour & Claire McKenzie), Michael John O’Neill, Morna Pearson, Frances Poet, Lynda Radley, Uma Nada-Rajah, Ian Rankin, Corinne Salisbury, Stef Smith, Tena Štivičić, May Sumbwanyambe, Luke Sutherland, Meghan Tyler, Bea Webster, and Irvine Welsh.

Writer-performers: Richard Conlon, Janey Godley, Liz Lochhead, and Gail Watson.

Director/performers: Peter Mullan

Writer/director/performer: Greg McHugh

Directors: Davey Anderson, Andy Arnold (Artistic Director of the Tron Theatre), Justin Audibert, ​Cora Bissett, Jordan Blackwood, Nick Bone, Liz Carruthers, Christine Devaney and Tam Dean Burn, Graham Eatough, Julie Ellen (Artistic Director of Macrobert Arts Centre), Morag Fullarton, Heather Fulton, Leonie Rae Gasson, Nic Green, Debbie Hannan, Ben Harrison, Finn den Hertog, Dominic Hill (Artistic Director of the Citizens Theatre), Shilpa T-Hyland, Natalie Ibu, Emily Ingram, Niloo-Far Khan, Nazli Tabatabai-Khatambakhsh, Muireann Kelly (Artistic Director of Theatre Gu Leòr), Lu Kemp (Artistis Director of Perth Theatre), Maggie Kinloch, Jemima Levick (Artistic Director of Stellar Quines Theatre Company), Laura Cameron Lewis, Amy Liptrott (Associate Director at Pitlochry Festival Theatre), Fiona MacKinnon, Morag McKinnon, Sarah McCardie, Peter McMaster, Beth Morton, Cameron Mowat, ​Katherine Nesbitt, Eve Nicol, Jack Nurse, Orla O’Loughlin, Andrew Panton (Artistic Director of Dundee Rep Theatre), Sally Reid, Stasi Schaeffer, Louise Shephard, Kolbrún Björt Sigfúsdóttir and Caitlin Skinner.

Writer/directors: Robert Softley Gale (Artistic Director of Birds of Paradise), ​David Greig, Zinnie Harris, Greg Hemphill, and Gerda Stevenson.

Additional creatives: Susan Bear, Matt Elliott, Lewis den Hertog, Dougal Gudim, Zoe Irvine, Fi Johnston, Danny Krass, Andrew Eaton Lewis, Simon Lidell, Rob MacNeacail, Michael John McCarthy, Kim Moore, Pippa Murphy, Shereen Nanjiani, Elizabeth Newman (Artistic Director of Pitlochry Theatre), Rab Noakes, Matt Padden, Patricia Panther, Tom Penny, Nick Powell, Travis Reeves, Carrie Skinner, Scott Twynholm, Tom Urie

Scenes for Survival is being developed and delivered by the National Theatre of Scotland working in association with an unprecedented number of partner organisations, including Aberdeen Performing Arts, An Lanntair, The Gaiety, Birds of Paradise, the Beacon Arts Centre, the Byre Theatre, Citizens Theatre, Cumbernauld Theatre, Curious Seed, Dumfries & Galloway Arts Festival, Dundee Rep Theatre, Eden Court Highlands, Imaginate, Lyth Arts Centre, Macrobert Arts Centre, Magnetic North, Perth Theatre, Pier Arts Centre, Playwrights Studio, Pitlochry Festival Theatre, Queen Jesus Productions, Royal Lyceum Theatre Company, Shetland Arts, Solar Bear, Studio Fir Chlis, Summerhall, Stellar Quines, Theatre Gu Leor, the Tron Theatre and the Traverse Theatre.