Welcoming New Board Members


4 Oct 2022

News Story

National Theatre of Scotland is delighted to announce the appointment of Catherine Holden and Stephen Sweeney to its Board of Directors.

Catherine is an arts and heritage consultant, trainer, facilitator and coach. Her practice spans organisational change and governance, fundraising strategy, marketing and branding, as well as personal and team development. She has extensive experience working in senior roles for leading creative institutions, ​including National Museums Scotland, Tate, the Natural History Museum and the National Theatre in London.  She is currently chair of the national development agency Craft Scotland, and a trustee of Clore Leadership, Art UK and the Fruitmarket Gallery.

Stephen is a Chartered Certified Accountant with extensive experience in industry. For the past twenty years he has been Finance Director of Campbells Prime Meat Ltd, Scotland’s leading supplier of fresh meat, fish and deli products to hotels and restaurants. He was a founding director of inclusive recruitment specialist Adopt an Intern and runs a credit union in Falkirk. He is Chair of the Scottish League of Credit Unions.

The Company welcomes Jane Spiers as the new Chair of the Board as she takes up her role, succeeding Seona Reid. Jane is a highly respected arts leader who was Chief Executive of Aberdeen Performing Arts up until this year. In a career in the arts spanning 40 years from inner London to rural Aberdeenshire, she has been a producer, programmer, festival director, event manager and cultural policy advisor.

Catherine Holden, Jane Spiers and Stephen Sweeney

National Theatre of Scotland bids farewell to Seona Reid who is standing down from the Board following nine years of service, together with Board members Janette Harkess, Alison Lefroy Brooks, Robert Softley Gale and Ros Taylor. The Company extends grateful thanks to them for their valuable contributions in helping steer the organisation towards a sustainable and resilient future.

Full information on the Board of Directors can be found here.