Jane Spiers appointed as New Chair of the National Theatre of Scotland


20 Jun 2022

News Story

Jane Speirs stands centre stage with a theatre auditorium in the background.

The National Theatre of Scotland is delighted to announce that Jane Spiers will be taking up the role of Chair of the National Theatre of Scotland’s board, commencing in September 2022.

Jane Spiers is a highly respected arts leader and is currently Chief Executive of Aberdeen Performing Arts, due to step down on 1 July 2022. She succeeds Seona Reid who is standing down following nine years of exceptional service.

In a career in the arts spanning 40 years from inner London to rural Aberdeenshire, Jane Spiers has been a producer, programmer, festival director, event manager and cultural policy advisor.

She has been Chief Executive of Aberdeen Performing Arts since 2012, running three venues; His Majesty’s Theatre, the Music Hall and the Lemon Tree and three city festivals, having previously been the inaugural Chief Executive of Horsecross Arts; Perth Theatre and Perth Concert Hall from 2003 – 2012.

She has a long- standing commitment to Scottish theatre sharing her expertise sector wide as a Trustee with a number of industry bodies. Her significant cultural contribution to Aberdeen and the North East was acknowledged in a lifetime achievement award by the Aberdeen and Grampian Chamber of Commerce.

Currently Jane is a Trustee of the Theatres Trust, appointed by the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport; a Trustee of Sage Gateshead; a Trustee of Edinburgh UNESCO City of Literature Trust; a Trustee of sound Scotland; a Non-Executive Director of the UK Touring Partnership; a Non-Executive Director of the Scottish Theatre Producing Consortium and a member of Aberdeen City Council Adoption and Permanence Panel. In recent years she has been a Trustee of the Beacon Arts Centre, Greenock and she has served on the Executive of Culture Aberdeen.

She was made an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland in 2016 for her contribution to the cultural environment in Scotland as project lead/champion for four capital projects; the Stirling Tolbooth, Perth Concert Hall, Perth Theatre and Aberdeen Music Hall. She was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Letters (D.Litt) in 2021 by Robert Gordon University for contribution to the arts. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.

Jackie Wylie – Artistic Director of the National Theatre of Scotland said:

“I am thrilled that the Board have unanimously approved the appointment of Jane Spiers as the Company’s new Chair. She is the best kind of cultural leader. She matches years of exemplary executive and governance experience with an intrinsic belief in the critical value of the arts to audiences and communities alongside an unshakeable commitment to artists and innovation. I look forward to working with her, in her new role as the National Theatre of Scotland’s Chair, and for the organisation to benefit from her authentic passion for driving progressive systemic change through board leadership.”

Jane Spiers, incoming Chair of the National Theatre of Scotland said:

“It is a pleasure and a privilege to be the next Chair of the National Theatre of Scotland.I have always loved the idea of Scotland’s theatre without walls, theatre that tells everyone’s stories everywhere and is inspired by people and place.  Seona Reid has been an outstanding Chair and leaves a wonderful legacy to build on.   I am hugely attracted by Jackie Wylie’s pioneering vision, her energy and generosity of spirit.  I am looking forward to working with the Board, the team and the wider Scottish theatre community as we emerge from the global pandemic, look to the future and reflect on our part in recovery.  The team’s commitment to bold vision and work that is truly representative of society in all its richness and complexity is more vital than ever. I am excited to continue the conversation and have the opportunity to champion and support the National Theatre of Scotland as we evolve and grow”.

The full list of the National Theatre of Scotland’s current serving board members can be found here.