The Cheviot, The Stag, and the Black Black Oil

A ceilidh through Scotland’s past – and present

This legendary piece of Scottish theatre tells the story of the exploitation of Scottish lands, waters and people over the centuries.

From the highland clearances to the oil boom, this is the universal tale of how the greed of a few blights the lives of many. Add a generous dose of Scottish rebellion and irreverence. Throw in some live music and a riotous ceilidh – you’ve got yourself a rollicking great night out.

Following 2015’s hugely successful restaging, this new version of The Cheviot takes the story back to its roots, visiting intimate art centres and community spaces, echoing the play’s original 1970s tour by 7:84.

Come and experience the ‘Story that has a beginning, a middle but, as yet, no end…’

Recommended Age Guide: 14+

Presented by the National Theatre of Scotland in association with Dundee Rep Theatre and Live Theatre, Newcastle. Based on the original production by Dundee Rep Theatre.

Full ticket details coming soon for

One Touch, Eden Court, Inverness: Sun 19 & Mon 20 May
Sabhal Mòr Ostaig, Skye: Fri 31 May
Aberdeen Arts Centre: Tue 4 Jun
Macrobert Arts Centre, Stirling: Thu 6 Jun
Live Theatre, Newcastle: Tue 11 – Sat 22 Jun

 

Written by John McGrath. Directed by Joe Douglas.

Running Time:

160 minutes

Accessible performances available:

  • BSL British Sign Language Performance

  • Audio Described

  • Touch Tour

  • Captioned

  • Autism Friendly

Access

Find out more about Access for Cheviot.

Read more

Reviews

Book tickets and view venue details

£5 - £12

16/05/2019

  • Thu 16 May 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now

ON SALE SOON

19/05/2019 - 20/05/2019

  • Sun 19 May 2019 4:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now
  • Mon 20 May 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now

£5 - £12

23/05/2019

  • Thu 23 May 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now

£5 - £12

28/05/2019

  • Tue 28 May 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now

£5 - £12

29/05/2019

  • Wed 29 May 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now

ON SALE SOON

31/05/2019

  • Fri 31 May 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now

ON SALE SOON

04/06/2019

  • Tue 04 Jun 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now

ON SALE SOON

06/06/2019

  • Thu 06 Jun 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now

£5 - £12

07/06/2019

  • Fri 07 Jun 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now

ON SALE SOON

11/06/2019 - 22/06/2019

  • Tue 11 Jun 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now
  • Wed 12 Jun 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now
  • Thu 13 Jun 2019 2:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now
  • Thu 13 Jun 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now
  • Fri 14 Jun 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now
  • Sat 15 Jun 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now
  • Sun 16 Jun 2019 4:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now
  • Tue 18 Jun 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now
  • Wed 19 Jun 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now
  • Thu 20 Jun 2019 2:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now
  • Thu 20 Jun 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now
  • Fri 21 Jun 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now
  • Sat 22 Jun 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Book now