The Cheviot, The Stag, and the Black Black Oil

A ceilidh through Scotland’s past – and present

This legendary piece of Scottish theatre tells the story of the exploitation of Scottish lands, waters and people over the centuries.

From the highland clearances to the oil boom, this is the universal tale of how the greed of a few blights the lives of many. Add a generous dose of Scottish rebellion and irreverence. Throw in some live music and a riotous ceilidh – you’ve got yourself a rollicking great night out.

Following 2015’s hugely successful restaging, this new version of The Cheviot takes the story back to its roots, visiting intimate art centres and community spaces, echoing the play’s original 1970s tour by 7:84.

Come and experience the ‘Story that has a beginning, a middle but, as yet, no end…’

Recommended Age Guide: 14+

Presented by the National Theatre of Scotland in association with Dundee Rep Theatre and Live Theatre, Newcastle. Based on the original production by Dundee Rep Theatre.

Written by John McGrath. Directed by Joe Douglas.

Running Time:

160 minutes

Accessible performances available:

  • BSL British Sign Language Performance

  • Captioned

  • Audio Described

  • Touch Tour

  • Autism Friendly

Recommended Age Guide:

14+

Access

Find out more about Access for Cheviot.

Read more

Reviews

Creative team

Cast

Book tickets and view venue details

£12

16/05/2019

  • Thu 16 May 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance

£18

19/05/2019 - 20/05/2019

  • Sun 19 May 2019 4:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
  • Mon 20 May 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance

£12

23/05/2019

  • Thu 23 May 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance

£15

25/05/2019

  • Sat 25 May 2019 4:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance

£12

28/05/2019

  • Tue 28 May 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance

£12

29/05/2019

  • Wed 29 May 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    On Sale Soon

£15

31/05/2019

  • Fri 31 May 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance

£15

01/06/2019

£18

04/06/2019

  • Tue 04 Jun 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance

£18

05/06/2019

  • Wed 05 Jun 2019 7:30 pm
    Inclusive Performance

£17.5

06/06/2019

  • Thu 06 Jun 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance

£12

07/06/2019

  • Fri 07 Jun 2019 7:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance

£26

12/06/2019 - 22/06/2019

  • Wed 12 Jun 2019 7:30 pm
    Inclusive Performance
  • Thu 13 Jun 2019 2:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
  • Thu 13 Jun 2019 7:30 pm
    Inclusive Performance
    Sold Out
  • Fri 14 Jun 2019 7:30 pm
    Inclusive Performance
  • Sat 15 Jun 2019 2:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
  • Sat 15 Jun 2019 7:30 pm
    Inclusive Performance
  • Sun 16 Jun 2019 4:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
  • Tue 18 Jun 2019 7:30 pm
    Inclusive Performance
  • Wed 19 Jun 2019 7:30 pm
    Inclusive Performance
  • Thu 20 Jun 2019 2:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
  • Thu 20 Jun 2019 7:30 pm
    Inclusive Performance
  • Fri 21 Jun 2019 7:30 pm
    Inclusive Performance
  • Sat 22 Jun 2019 2:00 pm
    Inclusive Performance
  • Sat 22 Jun 2019 7:30 pm
    Inclusive Performance